24th World Meeting on Sexual Medicine - Dec 15-17, 2023

ISSM Best Paper Prize

ISSM Best Paper Prize in Sexual Medicine 2023

We are thrilled to introduce the prestigious 2023 ISSM Best Paper Prizes, a recognition that celebrates excellence in original research, innovative thinking, and the quality and impactful contributions made in the field of sexual medicine.
If you have submitted a paper to JSM, SMOA, or SMR between November 1, 2022, and August 1, 2023, and it has been accepted for publication, your work automatically qualifies for consideration! 
Scroll down for detailed information.

Here's what you need to know about the ISSM Best Paper Prize in Sexual Medicine 2023


A distinguished committee of experts, drawn from the esteemed Editorial Board of each journal together with members of the ISSM Grants & Prizes Committee, will meticulously review all eligible submissions. They are committed to upholding the highest standards of inclusivity, fairness, and impartiality in the selection process. The selection criteria encompass scientific rigor, contribution to the field, clarity and organization, ethical considerations, and DEI perspective.
To ensure diversity and avoid biases, the committee will consider the wide range of topics and perspectives represented in the submitted papers as an integral part of these selection criteria.

Prize Categories


The crème de la crème! This award recognizes the absolute best paper, showcasing exceptional research and making a significant impact in the realm of sexual medicine. The winner will receive a prestigious Gold Prize, along with a cash award of USD 3000.


A remarkable achievement! The Silver Prize honours papers that have demonstrated significant contributions, scientific merit, and excellence in their respective areas. The winner will receive the distinguished Silver Prize, accompanied by a cash award of USD 2000.


A noteworthy accomplishment! The Bronze Prize celebrates papers of outstanding quality and substantial value to the field, demonstrating the dedication and brilliance of the authors. The winner will receive the esteemed Bronze Prize, along with a cash award of USD 1000.

Global Recognition

The winners of these prestigious prizes will be announced at the highly anticipated World Meeting on Sexual Medicine, scheduled to take place in the vibrant city of Dubai, UAE, from December 15-17, 2023. This global event will serve as the perfect stage to acknowledge and showcase the remarkable achievements of our esteemed authors.

Eligibility and Authorship
We have ensured that this competition remains open to all authors, embracing inclusivity and encouraging diverse perspectives. Whether you are a seasoned expert or an up-and-coming researcher, your work stands a chance to shine! The only exceptions are Editors-in-Chief, Deputy/Co-Editors, who are ineligible, and any Associate Editor who is an author of a candidate paper cannot serve on the judging committee.

Be Present, Claim your Prize
To receive the prize, it is required that at least one of the authors be an ISSM Member and attend the World Meeting on Sexual Medicine in person. Don't miss this incredible opportunity to not only be recognized but also to connect with fellow researchers and industry leaders from around the world.

Rest assured that the selection process will prioritize inclusivity, clear guidelines, and a fair evaluation to ensure unbiased recognition of contributions across the diverse landscape of sexual medicine research.


ISSM Emil Tanagho Prize
USD 2500
For the best innovative research presented during the WMSM (based on abstract submissions)

Dr. Emil Tanagho was a formal Chairman of the Department of Urology at University of California, San Francisco, USA. He is a pioneer in neurourology, urodynamics and bladder reconstruction. He mentored many prominant members of ISSM including Wayne Hellstrom, Gregory Broderick, Gerald Brock, Serge Carrier, and Tom Lue. After the ISSM meeting in San Francisco, Tom Lue proposed to the ISSM executive committee to establish the Tanagho Prize to encourage investigators to continue the scientific exploration of physiology and pathophysiology of sexual dysfunction as well as innovations in diagnosis and treatment.

Will you be among these distinguished prize winners?

2022: 23rd ISSM/SMSNA Scientific Meeting, Miami, USA

Zorgniotti-Newman Prize: 
Pathway analysis of microarray data from corpora cavernosal tissue of prostatectomy and Peyronie’s patients, in comparison with a cavernous nerve injured rat model of erectile dysfunction.
Carol Podsalek, Timothy Searl, Samuel  Orlander, Kevin T. McVary.

ISSM Emil Tanagho Prize: 
Gut Microbiota and Sexual Desire Disorder in Women
Li, G; Xiansheng, Z; Xiaojin, H; Yunxia, C

ISSM/SMSNA Female Sexual Dysfunction Prize: 
How Many Nerve Fibers Innervate the Human Clitoris: A Histomorphometric Evaluation of the Dorsal Nerve of the Clitoris.
Maria Uloko, Paige Isabey, Blair Robert Peters.

ISSM/SMSNA Mental Health Prize: 
Sexual Function in Patients with Major Depressive Disorder before and after Treatment with Selective Serotonin Reuptake Inhibitor (SSRI).
Sophia Weber, Vibe Frokjaer, Sophia Armand, Julie Nielsen, Gitte Knudsen, Martin Jørgensen, Dea Stenbæk, Annamaria Giraldi.

ISSM/SMSNA Basic Science Abstract Prizes:
Histometric Measurement of CD117 and PGP9.5 Immunopositive Staining in Excised Vestibular Specimens from Patients with Neuroproliferative Vestibulodynia
Drian, A; Yee, A; Kim, N; Goldstein, A; Kady, S; Goldstein, S; Goldstein, I

EMT Induced Transcription Factors Direct Leptin-LEPR-DHH Signaling to Modulate Leydig Stem Cells Differentiation in Testis.
Arora, H; Seetharam, D; Ramasamy, R; Dullea, A

How many Nerve Fibers Innervate the Human Clitoris? A Histomorphometric Evaluation of the Dorsal Nerve of the Clitoris.
Peters, B; Uloko, M; Isabey, P

Association of Androgen Receptor Signaling in Human Corpus Cavernosum with Serum Testosterone Levels.
Khodamoradi, K; Dullea, A; Golan, R; Ory, J; Bidhan, J; Arora, H; Ramasamy, R

Exploring the Effects of Actinidin as a Novel Collagenase on Human Peyronie’s Disease Cells.
Feng, K; Kiattiburut, W; Hickling, D; Burton, J; Campbell, J.

ISSM/SMSNA Clinical Abstract Prizes:
The Atherosclerotic Cardiovascular Disease Risk Score is a Reliable Tool to Identify Patients with Arteriogenic Erectile Dysfunction at Dynamic Penile Color Doppler Duplex Ultrasound – Findings From a Real-life Cross-sectional Study.
Pozzi, E; Fallara, G; Bertini, A; Raffo, M; Paolo, C; Fallara, G; Belladelli, F; Corsini, C; Cignoli, D; Candela, L; Schifano, N; Lanzaro, F; D'arma, A; Boeri, L; Ventimiglia, E; Matloob, R; Montorsi, F; Salonia, A.

Comorbidity Profile Network Analysis of Men with Erectile Dysfunction.
Greear, G; Dadhich, P; Stanaway, I; Walsh, T; Nicholson, T; Wessells, H; Holt, S; Hehemann, M.

The Effects of Vaginal Testosterone versus Placebo on Female Sexual Function: Interim Analysis of the PIVoT Trial (Prevention of Recurrent Urinary Tract Infection using Vaginal Testosterone).
Martinez, M; Sandozi, A; Vafina, L; Kaplan-marans, E; Lee, J; Khurgin, J; Lee, A; Polland, A.

The Safety of Vaginal Estrogen Therapy for Genitourinary Syndrome of Menopause in Women with a History of Breast Cancer – A Claims Database Analysis.
Agrawal, P; Dumas, K; Singh, S; Kohn, J; Kohn, T; Clifton, M

Pharmacological Treatment of Men with Compulsive Sexual Behaviour Disorder - Randomized, Double-blind, Placebo-controlled Trial of Paroxetine and Naltrexone.
Lew-starowicz, M; Draps, M; Kowalewska, E; Obarska, K; Kraus, S; Gola, M.

WMSM Office
Zaanweg 119A
1521 DS Wormerveer

+31 (0)75-647 63 72